CUPE 4400

TORONTO EDUCATION WORKERS/LOCAL 4400

PURPOSE

The Toronto Education Worker/Local 4400 of the Canadian Union of Public Employees has been formed to improve the social and economic welfare of its members, without regard to gender, sexual orientation, colour, race or creed, and in compliance with the Human Rights Code, to promote efficiency in public employment and to manifest its belief in the value of the unity of organized labour!

Union History

Toronto Education Worker/Local 4400 of the Canadian Union of Public Employees has been formed to improve the social and economic welfare of its members, and in compliance with the Human Rights Code, race or creed, colour, sexual orientation, without regard to gender, to promote efficiency in public employment and to manifest its belief in the value of the unity of organized labour.

Toronto Education Workers/Local 4400 is made up of approximately 12,000 Education Workers who primarily work within the Toronto District School Board; Childcare Workers from various Childcare Centres and Caretakers from Viamonde French Board.

Representing over 400 Job Classifications, and over 1,000 Worksites.

  • 1998 Amalgamation of 16 Local CUPE Unions;
  • 1999 Strike, out for 2 weeks;
  • 2001 Strike, out for 4 weeks – legislated back to work; and
  • 2004 Work-to-Rule, disruption in service for 1 year.

Toronto Education Workers/Local 4400 Units

tew-b

Toronto Education Workers/ Local 4400 Structure

1-members

12,000 MEMBERS OF TORONTO EDUCATION WORKERS/LOCAL 4400

Members, meeting in General and Special membership meetings, are the highest decision-making body of Toronto Education Workers/Local 4400. Members set policy and elect union officers. Members participate through union workplace activities, job classification meetings, Unit meetings, General and Special meetings, union campaigns and union committees.

Toronto Education Workers Executive Committee

4-coordinators

14 Steward Co-ordinators (Unit B-4; Unit C-6; Unit D-4)

5-unit-vice-presidents

4 Unit Vice-Presidents (Unit B-1; Unit C-2; Unit D-1)

Deal with issues from the bargaining unit they represent, as well as undertake membership-wide duties on a full-time basis.

6-equity-vice-president

Equity Vice-President

Works with other union officers and members to achieve the goal of equity in all aspects of the union’s work.

6-equity-vice-president

President, Recording & Corresponding Secretary and Treasurer

Toronto Education Workers/Local 4400 Executive Committee

  • John Weatherup
    John Weatherup President

    Email: john.weatherup@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 223

  • Mike Ciarabellini
    Mike Ciarabellini Treasurer

    Email: mike.ciarabellini@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 224

  • Colleen Costa
    Colleen Costa Recording and Corresponding Secretary

    Email: colleen.costa@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 230

  • Yolanda McClean
    Yolanda McClean Equity Vice-President

    Email: yolanda.mcclean@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 229

Unit B

  • Terri Preston
    Terri Preston Unit B Vice-President

    Email: terri.preston@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 241

  • Phyllis Boosalis
    Phyllis Boosalis Unit B Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: phyllis.boosalis@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext. 288

  • Miguel Lima
    Miguel Lima Unit B Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: miguel.lima@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 236

  • Lisa Skeete
    Lisa Skeete Unit B Steward Co-Ordinator

    lisa.skeete@cupe4400.org
    647-403-8243

  • Hellen Yousufzai
    Hellen Yousufzai Unit B Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: hellen.yousufzai@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 236

Unit C

  • Anna Hutchison
    Anna Hutchison Unit C Vice-President

    Email: anna.hutchison@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 240

  • Ondina Veiga
    Ondina Veiga Unit C Vice-President

    ondina.veiga@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext:234

  • Mara Boedo
    Mara Boedo Unit C Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: mara.boedo@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext. 248

  • Ian Byrd
    Ian Byrd Unic C Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: ian.byrd@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 228

  • Marie Coulter
    Marie Coulter Unit C Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: marie.coulter@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext. 248

  • Bonnie Dineen
    Bonnie Dineen Unit C Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: bonnie.dineen@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440

  • Cherill Hiebert
    Cherill Hiebert Unit C Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: cherill.hiebert@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440

  • David Spek
    David Spek Unit C Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: david.spek@cupe4400.org

Unit D

  • Dave Smith
    Dave Smith Unit D Vice-President

    Email: dave.smith@cupe4400.org
    Phone: 416-393-0440
    Ext: 237

  • Glen Amiro
    Glen Amiro Unit D Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: glen.amiro@cupe4400.org
    Cell: 647-216-1950

  • John Douglas
    John Douglas Unit D Steward Co-Ordinator

    Phone: 647-501-3159
    Email: john.douglas@cupe4400.org

  • Duane Kennedy
    Duane Kennedy Unit D Steward Co-Ordinator

    Cell:647-501-4198
    Email:duane.kennedy@cupe4400.org

  • John McDougall
    John McDougall Unit D Steward Co-Ordinator

    Email: john.mcdougall@cupe4400.org
    Cell: 647-216-1583

Font Resize